Programming as Writing

Project URLs Writing as Metadata General Google Doc
Week Title Author Year Link
2 "Introduction" (Chosen by Laurel)
Octavia Butler and Samuel Delany in conversation at MIT media in translation 1998 http://web.mit.edu/m-i-t/science_fiction/transcripts/butler_delany_index.html
My website is a shifting house next to a river of knowledge. What could yours be? Laurel Schwulst 2018 https://thecreativeindependent.com/people/laurel-schwulst-my-website-is-a-shifting-house-next-to-a-river-of-knowledge-what-could-yours-be/
3 "Hypertext" (Chosen by Bryant)
afternoon, a story Michael Joyce 1990 (emailed)
The Rejection of Closure Lyn Hejinian 1983 https://www.poetryfoundation.org/articles/69401/the-rejection-of-closure
4 "Repetition" (Chosen by Cindy)
Portraits and Repetition (from Lectures in America) Gertrude Stein 1935 http://people.zhdk.ch/shusha.niederberger/texte/gertrude-stein/portraits-and-repetition_1935.pdf
5 "Translation" (Chosen by Kyla)
On Translation Minae Mizumura 2018 http://www.servinglibrary.org/journal/14/on-translation
6 "Writing as Image" (Chosen by Nick)
In Defense of the Poor Image Hito Steyerl 2009 http://veryinteractive.net/library/in-defense-of-the-poor-image
Mirtha Dermisache and the Limits of Language (optional) Will Fenstermaker 2018 https://www.theparisreview.org/blog/2018/01/30/mirtha-dermisache-limits-language
7 "Affordance"
Once Again, The Doorknob: On Affordance, Forgiveness and Ambiguity in Human Computer and Human Robot Interaction Olia Lialina 2018 http://contemporary-home-computing.org/affordance/
8 "GUI"
Black Gooey Universe American Artist 2018 http://unbag.net/issue-2-end/black-gooey-universe
9 "Feedback"
The Poetry of Feedback Jasper Bernes 2017 https://www.e-flux.com/journal/82/127862/the-poetry-of-feedback/